Loading price data
Scrap Monster
Access the
ScrapMonster has become North America's largest scrap trading platform with 100,333 members and the trusted source for scrap prices, news, and information. Join Today!

Back to Scrap Laws Wyoming Metal Scrap Statute
Current as of September 14, 2015

The State Metals Theft Laws summaries are not intended to provide or be relied as a legal advice. This material is provided to serve as a reasonable compilation of the most current state scrap laws and is intended to be a resource or supplement to, and provide ideas for, compliance with all applicable laws. The ISRI State Scrap Laws are subject to change and readers should visit http://www.isri.org/metalstheftdb to make certain they are reading the most recent version of ISRI's summaries of the State Metals Theft Laws
Overview of Provisions (use the section titles to travel directly to that section)

Please Note: Amendments by 2015 Wyoming SB 11, effective July 1, 2016, are included in this summary. Title 34, Ch. 19 Junkyard Control includes screening and licensing requirements for yards near interstate or primary systems but is not included in this summary.


"Junk Dealer" is defined as any person, firm, or corporation engaged in buying "second hand, or broken metals, such as copper, brass, lead, zinc, tin, steel, cast iron, rags, rubber, or waste paper".

Recordkeeping (italicized text added by SB 11)

Junk Dealers must keep a book written in ink or a dedicated computer software program recording the following information in English at the time of transaction for purchases or sales of junk metal or rubber goods:

  • An accurate account and description of the junk metal or rubber goods;
  • The Seller or Buyer's name and residence.

For purchases, a Junk Dealer must additionally record either of the following (optional for common household and personal items of less than $50 market value):

  • The license plate number of the Seller's vehicle, if applicable; or
  • Verification of the Seller's name and residence through presentation of the Seller's U.S. federal or state-issued photo identification.

Dealers must post the following conspicuously in the office of their place of business

  • For purchases, the description and amount of junk articles and names and addresses of the Sellers;
  • For sales, the names and addresses of the Purchasers.

A retention period is not specified


Records shall be open at all times to inspection by the sheriff of the county and his or her deputies, or any member of the police force of any city or town, in the county where the Dealer does business.

Purchase Restrictions

Dealers may not purchase articles from a person appearing to be intoxicated or from a person known to be a thief or to have been convicted of larceny. If the owner of stolen property "which has been so sold" is found, the property shall be returned without any payment from the owner.


A dealer found guilty shall be subject to a:

  • 1st offense: $50 to $200 fine &/or a maximum of 60 days imprisonment in the county jail;
  • Subsequent offenses: $100 to $300 fine &/or 30 to 90 days imprisonment in the county jail.
Local Powers not Impaired

The law does not impair the power of cities or incorporated towns to license, tax, and regulate entities "engaging in the buying and selling of second hand metals."

©2016. The Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc. All rights reserved.

This summary of State Metals Theft Laws is being viewed on this website under license and is owned and copyrighted by Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc. ("ISRI"),1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036.