Please Note: Alaska Statutes Chapter 08.60, Article 3: Scrap Metal Dealer Record Requirements, is created by 2014 Alaska CSHB 305 (awaiting final action by the Governor at the time this summary was posted) and will take effect on January 1, 2015.
HB 305 also repeals the requirement of AS 08.60.010 for junk dealers or metal scrappers to obtain an annual license from the Department of Revenue.
HB 305 does not change the requirements of Ch. 08.60, Article 2: Regulation of Junk Yards (AS 08.60.050 to AS 08.60.100). Article 2 defines "junk" as including metals, automobiles, tools, implements, rags, used building materials, rubber, and paper; and "junk yard" as a location where junk is gathered together and stored for a commercial or public purpose.
"Scrap Metal" means used, discarded, or previously owned brass, copper, bronze, aluminum, lead, stainless steel, catalytic converter material, or other metal; but does not include ferrous metal, beverage containers, gold, silver, or platinum. "Scrap Metal Dealer" or "Dealer" means a person who purchases Scrap Metal for the purpose of resale or processing.
The law exempts:
A Dealer must maintain an accurate paper or electronic record of each in-person purchase of Scrap Metal for $100 or more with the following information:
Records must be maintained for 5 years after the date of the transaction
Records must be available for inspection by a law enforcement officer during the Dealer's regular business hours, or at reasonable times if the Dealer does not keep regular hours
A Dealer who knowingly fails to comply with or a person who knowingly makes a false entry for the Recordkeeping provision is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
©2016. The Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc. All rights reserved.
This summary of State Metals Theft Laws is being viewed on this website under license and is owned and copyrighted by Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, Inc. ("ISRI"),1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036.