Loading price data...
Scrap Monster
Steel News October 03, 2016 12:30:29 PM

World Steel Association declares shortlist for 7th Steelie Awards

Paul Ploumis
ScrapMonster Author
The final winners will be announced during the 50th worldsteel conference scheduled to be held in Dubai on 10th October, 2016.
World Steel Association declares shortlist for 7th Steelie Awards

ALBANY (Scrap Monster): The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has released the shortlist for its 7th Steelie Awards. The final winners will be announced during the 50th worldsteel conference scheduled to be held in Dubai on 10th October, 2016. The trade association distributes Steelies in seven different categories every year- Steel Industry website of the year, Innovation of the year, Excellence in Sustainability, Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment, Excellence in Education and Training, Journalist of the Year and Industry communicator of the year.

Steel industry website of the year

The award recognizes websites of members based on their performance with regards to overall design, loading and page delivery, information range and relevance, navigation ease, and use of new technologies. An initial review is conducted by a worldsteel expert panel. The ultimate selection of the winner is done by external communications experts.

The companies whose websites are shortlisted for this year’s awards are POSCO, Salzgitter AG Stahl und Technologie, Tata Steel Europe, thyssenkrupp AG and voestalpine AG.

Innovation of the year

The award recognizes companies for their achievement in technical innovation or environmental mitigation. The nominations forwarded by the worldsteel technology committee are judged by the technology committee.

The shortlisted innovations include the processes for converting granulated blast furnace slag into sand and development of advanced high strength automotive steels with speed and innovation by JSW Steel Limited and the R&D of high carbon tool steel thin slab continuous casting and rolling process by Hesteel Group Co., Ltd.

Excellence in sustainability

The award recognizes a member company or a national or regional association for a sustainability initiative that makes positive economic, environmental and social performance impact. The entries forwarded by the Sustainability Reporting Expert Group are judged by a panel comprising of internal and external judges.

The shortlisted initiatives include those for extending the life cycle of steel sheet piles in a circular economy by ArcelorMittal, using urban recycled water as the only water source in iron and steel production by Hesteel Group Co., Ltd. and Ternium’s development of sustainable industrial centre in Pesquería, Mexico.

Excellence in life cycle assessment

This award recognises member companies that have played a key role in establishing and guiding the work of worldsteel in LCA. The member nominations are judged by a panel consisting of international LCA experts.

The shortlisted candidates are Erdemir Group for the use of LCA to develop greenhouse gas emissions monitoring system in Turkey, POSCO for using LCA to identify the environmental and business benefits of their advanced product portfolio in Korea, thyssenkrupp Steel Europe for employing LCA to assess the potential environmental performance and recyclability in their product development process and Tata Steel India for use of LCA to boost mining efficiency.

Excellence in education and training

The award recognizes member companies for their contributions to worldsteel's education and training programme and leadership in enhancing the skills of the steel workforce. The winners are selected from applications by member companies forwarded through the worldsteel education and training committee using points system. The five shortlisted member companies are ArcelorMittal for their 'Safety Training Programme', Nucor Corporation for their leadership in financial management training, Tata Steel Europe for their 'Graduate Development' programme, Tenaris for their ‘Development Maintenance Programme’ and Ternium for their ‘Fundamentals of Supervisor’s Role’ programme.

Journalist of the year

This award recognizes journalists from media outlet for informative articles. The winner is selected by members of the worldsteel communications committee through direct vote.

The shortlisted journalists for this year’s award are Vera Blei of Metal Bulletin, Henry Cooke of Platts, David Fickling of Bloomberg, Yang Kai of China Metallurgical News and Michael Pooler of Financial Times.

Industry communicator of the year

This award recognizes the individual who the media has chosen as having done the most in this year publicly to present the best face of the steel industry to the world at large. The winner is selected by direct vote.

The shortlisted candidates are Wolfgang Eder of voestalpine AG, Ohjoon Kwon of POSCO, Naveen Jindal of Jindal Steel and Power Limited (JSPL), Zhenjiang Liu of China Iron & Steel Association (CISA) and Alexander Mohr of APEAL.